May 28, 2014

  • something from Monday

    I was sitting in the break room having lunch Memorial day when Dean the meat dept manager comes over to me and said, Kathy? I said yes, he said Roxanne would like to talk to you when you are finished. Ok I told him.

    I started trying to think if I had done something wrong or was my drawer way off more than one time, is she going to tell me I am done or what? Roxanne is our HR person, the gal who hired me . . .

    I finished up my food and walked into her office . . . She said Dean was wondering if I would be interested in working in the meat department. Slicing meat, making deli sandwiches stuff like that. I told her I did not know anything about the meat department but sure why not. Then I asked her when and what hours would that be? She told me not for a couple of weeks but the hours would be 2 to 7 five nights a week – ugh. She said they were looking for someone dependable who showed up for their shift on time and someone they could count on.

    I thanked her but told her no, with summer coming I wanted to spend afternoons with my grandkids and I wasn’t crazy about working nights esp every night. She thanked me for telling her before hand instead of after the fact and she would keep me just where I am :)

    I was relieved and pleased with that little visit with Roxanne

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *